New Concept English

Longman New Concept English by L. G. Alexander is a popular English language textbook teaching British rules of English. The course was first published on October 30, 1967. A later (1993) revised edition is also available.

The course consists of four components:

  • The Students’ Book
  • The Teacher’s Book
  • A set of cassettes, on which the multi-purpose texts have been recorded.
  • Another set of cassettes, on which Repetition drill in the Teacher’s Book has been recorded.

Book 1: First Things First

  • Introductory title with 144 lessons
  • 72 for normal lessons
  • 72 for exercises

Book 2: Practice & Progress

  • This book includes 96 lessons

Book 3: Developing Skills

At this level, there is less need for pattern control and be able to contextualize.

Now that the foundations have been laid, the student is in a position to cope with new sentence patterns as and when they occur.

  • This book includes 60 lessons.

Book 4: Fluency in English

The materials were chosen from a variety of publications.

Nine of the lessons were selected from The Listener.

  • This volume book 48 lessons.

Posted in Education, English.