Zodiac Sign Profiles

The twelve Zodiac Signs are well-known, but each sign is unique and individual with its own strengths and flaws.

Zodiac Sign ProfilesIn both astrology and historical astronomy, the zodiac (Greek: ζῳδιακός, zōidiakos) is a circle of twelve 30° divisions of celestial longitude that are centered upon the ecliptic, the apparent path of the Sun across the celestial sphere over the course of the year. The paths of the Moon and visible planets also remain close to the ecliptic, within the belt of the zodiac, which extends 8-9° north or south of the ecliptic, as measured in celestial latitude. Because the divisions are regular, they do not correspond exactly to the twelve constellations after which they are named.

Historically, these twelve divisions are called signs. Essentially, the zodiac is a celestial coordinate system, or more specifically an ecliptic coordinate system, which takes the ecliptic as the origin of latitude, and the position of the Sun at vernal equinox as the origin of longitude.

  • Aries: Mar 21 – Apr 19
  • Taurus: Apr 20 – May 20
  • Gemini: May 21 – Jun 20
  • Cancer: Jun 21 – Jul 22
  • Leo: Jul 23 – Aug 22
  • Virgo: Aug 23 – Sep 22
  • Libra: Sep 23 – Oct 22
  • Scorpio: Oct 23 – Nov 21
  • Sagittarius: Nov 22 – Dec 21
  • Capricorn: Dec 22 – Jan 19
  • Aquarius: Jan 20 – Feb 18
  • Pisces: Feb 19 – Mar 20

Posted in Education, Entertainment.