• admin posted an update 7 months, 1 week ago

    The Indian Ocean is the third largest of the world’s oceanic divisions, covering 70,560,000 km². It is bounded by Asia on the north, on the west by Africa, on the east by Australia, and on the south by the Southern Ocean or, depending on definition, by Antarctica. It is named after India. The Indian Ocean is known as Ratnākara, “the mine of gems” in ancient Sanskrit literature, and as Hind Mahāsāgar, in Hindi.
    Depth: 26,401 feet (8,047 m)
    Mean depth: 12,762 feet (3,890 m)
    Islands: Diego Garcia · Île Amsterdam · Java · Garden Island · Juan de Nova Island · North Sentinel Island · Cockatoo Island · Europa Island · Dirk Hartog Island · Tromelin Island · Koolan Island · Kangaroo Island · Bassas da India · King Island · Rottnest Island